Curry Meat Loaf

Currymeatloaf.jpg Meatloaf has always been a touchy subject in my family. I was an incredibly picky child. I don’t think I ate vegetables from the ages of 4-10 besides a baby carrot here and there or a shred of lettuce on a burger. Of course my parents were good people who tried to instill that perhaps eating things besides peanut butter and jelly and pizza might be a good idea, but I really wanted nothing of it. This drove my dad in particular insane one night, not simply because of the nutritional deficiencies I was bound to be accumulating but I suspect because of the ridiculously dull taste options I was ok with. My dad has always been a pretty good cook and I think it really bothered him that for a while his daughter had extremely limited tastebuds. In any case, one of the few dinners I did eat that my parents cooked and that did not come out of a box was meatloaf. My mom always made really good meatloaf, though it admittedly seemed a little mysterious to me. One day I stumbled into the kitchen to see my mom pour about a half bottle of ketchup into a bowl with some ground meat. I was totally grossed out. I was convinced that nothing could taste good with that much ketchup in it. Keep in mind I had had said meatloaf in the past and loved it, and I harbored no ill feelings towards ketchup. None the less I had decided no meatloaf for me. My dad was beside himself. Meatloaf remains a touchy subject in my family to this day.

And here I am about 20 years later trying to make meatloaf without ketchup. This time, I simply didn’t have ketchup on hand and wasn’t in the mood to go purchase some. I didn’t have any tomato-related products like tomato paste or sauce either since my sweetheart appears to have a vendetta against most tomato flavored things. I also lacked a loaf pan–a necessity really for meatloaf. And so we have this creation. It looks disgusting, it tasted good. It feels both familiar and different. And truth be told, my mom’s tasted better. But I’ll post it all the same in case you too need some emergency meatloaf and lack ketchup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb grass fed ground beef
  • 1 lb pastured ground pork
  • 3 eggs
  • onion (chopped)
  • 1/4 almond flour
  • 1 Tablespoon curry powder
  • 2 teaspoons oregano
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • lots of freshly ground pepper
  • 1 teaspoon sriacha
  • 6 or more strips of bacon

Directions: Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl mix all of your ingredients (except the bacon) together. Smush everything into a ball and plop into a cast iron skillet. Top with bacon. Cook in the oven for an hour. There will be a lot of extra fat (especially since it’s grassfed), I just poured it out. I served it with some green beans with butter and parmesan.

Leave a Reply

